CSEA Awards

CSEA Awards Information:
The CSEA is our national affiliate organization, The Canadian Society for Education through Art. Recipients of the CSEA Affiliate Award for BC receive national recognition.

-This award is given by the CSEA at their annual conference in the Fall. Nominations are sent to the BCATA Vice-President, Charlotte Lightburn. Please submit nomination form, and all completed supporting documents to:


DEADLINE for Nominations: Thursday, April 20, 2017

CSEA Provincial Affiliate Award Criteria and Form

Awards for Canadian Art Educator of the Year (K-8, 9-12, Higher Ed) can be sent directly to the CSEA, by May 31st, 2017.  Visit their website for more information: csea_awards.

Past Awards Recipients

  • 2014– Barbara Sunday, West Vancouver: CSEA (Secondary)
  • 2014– Rita Irwin, UBC Vancouver: CSEA (Honourary Membership)
  • 2014– Kit Grauer, UBC Vancouver: CSEA (Honourary Membership)
  • 2014– Graeme Chalmers, UBC Vancouver: CSEA (Honourary Membership)
  • 2014– Wendy Long, Surrey: CSEA (Honourary Membership)
  • 2014– Sharon McCoubrey, UBC Okanagan: CSEA (Honourary Membership)
  • 2014– Bill Zuk, University of Victoria: CSEA (Honourary Membership)
  • 2013— Melanie Stokes, Coquitlam: CSEA (BC)
  • 2012— Regan Rasmussen, Sooke: CSEA (BC)
  • 2011— Sharon Richards,Kamloops: CSEA (BC)
  • 2010 Bill MacDonald, North Vancouver: CSEA (BC)
  • 2008— Mike McElgunn, Coquitlam: CSEA (BC)
  • 2008— Lynda Faulks, Cowichan: CSEA/Sax (K-12)
  • 2008— Kit Grauer, UBC Vancouver: CSEA/Sax (post-secondary)
  • 2007— Robert Dalton, University of Victoria: CSEA (BC)
  • 2006— Wendy Long, Surrey: CSEA (BC)
  • 2006— Rita Irwin, UBC Vancouver: CSEA/Sax Canadian Art Educator of the Year
  • 2005— Bill Zuk, University of Victoria: CSEA (BC)
  • 2004— Lynda Faulks, Cowichan: CSEA (BC)
  • 1999— Carolynn Elliot, Surrey: CSEA Brault and Bouthillier Award
  • 1998— Daryl Mytron, Surrey: CSEA (BC)
  • 1998— Janice Keys, Burnaby: CSEA Fitzhenry & Whiteside Award
  • 1998— Janice Keys, Burnaby: CSEA Sax Award
  • 1998— Colleen Kennedy, Langley: CSEA Brault & Bouthillier Award
  • 1997— Sharon McCoubrey, Okanagan Univ-College: CSEA (BC)
  • 1997— Margaret Scarr, Burnaby: CSEA (BC)
  • 1996— Heather Pastro, Malaspina University College, Nanaimo: CSEA (BC)